Expertise

Expertise

Digital responsibility

We bring together what belongs together

In a world where people and machines are in-creasingly interconnected, the challenges for companies are becoming more complex. All stakeholders expect digital products, applica-tions and services to be secure, data-saving, privacy-friendly and transparent - in short, trustworthy . In this context, legal issues must be clarified in the use and commercialization of data. Data law considerations form the basis for this. Moreo-ver, it is a question of responsible handling of data and algorithmic systems, which must be considered from an ethical perspective. The combination of both perspectives results in the assumption of digital responsibility..

Digital responsibility thus provides answers to both the ethical and legal issues of our digital world. We at b.yond, jointly launched by the Institute for Digital Transformation in Healthcare and the business law firm ARQIS, have therefore specialized in consulting services within the large intersections of digital ethics and law. Together with our clients, we explore the ethical dimensions of digital business models and thus accompany you on the path of digital responsi-bility.

Data.Law & Digital Ethics

Why is digital responsibility relevant?

The immense potential of digital technologies and data-based business models has long been part of corporate strategic planning and its im-plementation. As digitization matures, strategic questions arise that involve both legal and ethi-cal aspects:

  • How can data be effectively monetized while protecting the privacy of users?
  • What are the requirements for data-ecosystems in which data is made usa-ble between participants?
  • What should be considered for automat-ed decision support or decision making tools whose algorithms are not trans-parent?
  • What responsibility do I bear as a plat-form operator if I do not own the trading object myself?
  • What risks arise for me if I am dependent on digital services provided by third parties?

These and other questions address legal chal-lenges, but most of them have not yet been clarified in regulatory terms. Their ethical impli-cations require careful consideration in order to ensure the sustainability of companies.

What are the benefits of digital responsibility?

With the help of our digital & trusted consulting approach, companies secure their future viability and compliance. It integrates a broad range of targeted services designed to identify, docu-ment and minimize digital risks and build trust. By committing themselves to digital-ethical val-ues and measures, companies specifically set themselves apart from their competitors and achieve a competitive advantage. This has a signal effect both internally and externally. In addition, with the digital & trusted approach, companies are anticipating future regulations that are already being prepared today at the political level, as part of the EU data strategy and by the German federal government.

Areas of expertise

Data.Law
Digital ethics

In data law as part of a digital responsibility, the burning questions must be considered holistical-ly and across legal fields:

Increased requirements for cybersecurity and IT- and data security are among the more stringent compliance obligations of business managers. In the event of violations of data protection law for personal data (General Data Protection Reg-ulation, GDPR/Federal Data Protection Act), companies are threatened with fines and data-related legal protection proceedings (data priva-cy litigation) by authorities, but also initiated by competitors and consumer associations.

In addition, there are new legal issues in the use and commercialization of data, e.g. in the con-text of big data, AI robotics and networked data structures in digital ecosystems like the Europe-an GAIA-X. Who owns data, who is allowed to participate in the commercialization of data? How are data assets reflected in corporate bal-ance sheets? What other data-related legal obli-gations can companies expect in the future?

Digital ethics helps to find an appropriate way of dealing with new technologies and their ef-fects in a rapidly modernizing society with its numerous digital devices and applications. People are empowered to recognize and antici-pate the risks of digitality. As such, digital eth-ics is an integral part of corporate digital re-sponsibility. 

The importance of ethical issues in the context of digital technologies and business models has grown in recent years. Rapid advances in the areas of so-called artificial intelligence (AI), for example, in connection with automatic facial recognition or autonomous driving - are driving the debate. While legislation cannot keep up with this speed, politics, society, science and industry are already working on the topic from different angles.

For companies, this raises numerous questions that influence the design of future-proof digital business models: How can algorithms be used for automated decision making without violating human autonomy? How does one decide wheth-er to include publicly available data sets when it is not clear how this data was obtained? How do you responsibly use digital technologies for which there are no standards yet? And when will Germany follow Denmark's example and intro-duce reporting requirements on companies' data ethics strategy?

Ethics do not merge into law. Not every detail that is ethically relevant can and should be legal-ly regulated. Conversely, there are aspects of legal regulation that are pragmatic in nature and not ethically compelling.

Data Ethics Commission of the German Federal GovernmentReport of the Data Ethics Commission, p.41

Ethics do not merge into law. Not every detail that is ethically relevant can and should be legal-ly regulated. Conversely, there are aspects of legal regulation that are pragmatic in nature and not ethically compelling.

Data Ethics Commission of the German Federal GovernmentReport of the Data Ethics Commission, p.41

Kompetenzen

Kompetenzen

Digitale Verantwortung

Wir bringen zusammen, was zusammen gehört

In einer Welt, in der Menschen und Maschinen immer enger miteinander vernetzt sind, werden die Herausforderungen für Unternehmen zunehmend komplexer. Sämtliche Akteure erwarten von digitalen Produkten, Anwendungen und Dienstleistungen, dass diese sicher, datensparsam, privatsphärenfreundlich und transparent – kurz vertrauenswürdig – sind. Hierbei sind Rechtsfragen bei der Nutzung und Kommerzialisierung von Daten zu klären. Datenrechtliche Erwägungen bilden hierzu die Basis. Ferner geht es um einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Daten und algorithmischen Systemen, der aus einer ethischen Perspektive zu betrachten ist. Aus der Kombination beider Blickwinkel ergibt sich die Übernahme digitaler Verantwortung.

Digitale Verantwortung gibt demnach Antworten sowohl auf die ethischen als auch rechtlichen Fragestellungen unserer digitalen Welt. Wir bei b.yond, gemeinsamen ins Leben gerufen von dem Institute for Digital Transformation in Healthcare und der Wirtschaftskanzlei ARQIS, haben uns daher auf Beratungsdienstleistungen innerhalb der großen Schnittmengen von digitaler Ethik und Recht spezialisiert. Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden loten wir die ethischen Dimensionen digitaler Geschäftsmodelle aus und begleiten Sie so auf dem Weg der digitalen Verantwortung.

Data.Law & Digitale Ethik

Warum ist digitale Verantwortung relevant?

Die immensen Potenziale digitaler Technologien und datenbasierter Geschäftsmodelle sind längst Teil unternehmerischer Strategieplanung und deren Umsetzung. Dabei tauchen mit fortschreitendem Reifegrad der Digitalisierung strategische Fragestellungen auf, die sowohl rechtliche als auch ethische Aspekte beinhalten:

  • Wie können Daten effektiv monetarisiert und gleichzeitig die Privatsphäre von Nutzer*innen geschützt werden?
  • Welche Anforderungen sind an Datenökosysteme zu stellen, in denen Daten zwischen den Teilnehmer*innen nutzbar gemacht werden?
  • Was sollte bei Tools zur automatisierten Entscheidungsunterstützung oder -findung beachtet werden, deren Algorithmen nicht transparent sind?
  • Welche Verantwortung trage ich als Plattformbetreiber*in, wenn mir das Handelsobjekt nicht selbst gehört?
  • Welche Risiken ergeben sich für mich, wenn ich auf digitale Dienstleistungen Dritter angewiesen bin?

Diese und weitere Fragestellungen adressieren rechtliche Herausforderungen, sind aber zum Großteil regulatorisch noch nicht geklärt. Ihre ethischen Implikationen benötigen ein genaues Abwägen, um nachhaltig die Zukunftsfähigkeit von Unternehmen zu gewährleisten.

Was sind die Vorteile digitaler Verantwortung?

Mit Hilfe unseres digital & trusted Beratungsansatzes sichern Unternehmen ihre Zukunftsfähigkeit und Compliance. Er integriert ein breites Spektrum zielgerichteter Leistungen, die dazu dienen, digitale Risiken zu identifizieren, zu dokumentieren, zu minimieren und Vertrauen zu schaffen. Durch eine Selbstverpflichtung auf digital-ethische Werte und Maßnahmen grenzen sich Unternehmen gezielt von ihren Mitbewerbern ab und erreichen einen Wettbewerbsvorteil. Das hat Signalwirkung nach innen und nach außen. Zusätzlich greifen Unternehmen mit dem digital & trusted-Ansatz zukünftigen Regulierungen vor, die bereits heute auf politischer Ebene, als Teil der EU-Datenstrategie sowie durch die deutsche Bundesregierung, vorbereitet werden. 

Kompetenzfelder

Data.Law
Digitale Ethik

Im Datenrecht als Teil einer digitalen Verantwortung müssen die brennenden Fragen ganzheitlich und rechtsgebietsübergreifend betrachtet werden:

Gestiegene Anforderungen an Cybersecurity und IT- und Datensicherheit zählen zu den gehobenen Compliance-Pflichten der Geschäftsleiter*innen. Bei Verstößen gegen das Datenschutzrecht für personenbezogene Daten (DSGVO/BDSG) drohen Unternehmen Bußgelder und datenbezogene Rechtschutzverfahren (Data Privacy Litigation) durch Behörden, aber auch initiiert durch Wettbewerber und Verbraucherverbände.

Hinzu kommen neue Rechtsfragen bei der Nutzung und Kommerzialisierung von Daten, z. B. im Rahmen von Big Data, KI-Robotik und vernetzten Datenstrukturen in digitalen Ökosystemen wie dem europäischen GAIA-X. Wem gehören Daten, wer darf an der Kommerzialisierung von Daten partizipieren? Wie werden Datenwerte in der Unternehmensbilanz abgebildet? Welche weiteren datenbezogenen Rechtspflichten erwarten Unternehmen in Zukunft?

Digitale Ethik hilft dabei, in einer sich rasant modernisierender Gesellschaft mit ihren zahlreichen digitalen Geräten und Anwendungen, einen angemessenen Umgang mit den neuen Technologien und ihren Auswirkungen zu finden. Menschen werden befähigt, die Risiken der Digitalität zu erkennen und zu antizipieren. Als solche ist digitale Ethik fester Bestandteil der digitalen Verantwortung von Unternehmen. 

Die Bedeutung ethischer Fragestellungen im Kontext digitaler Technologien und Geschäftsmodelle ist in den letzten Jahren immer größer geworden. Rasante Fortschritte u. a. in den Bereichen der sogenannten künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) – etwa im Zusammenhang mit automatischer Gesichtserkennung oder autonomen Fahren – treiben die Debatte voran. Während die Gesetzgebung mit dieser Geschwindigkeit nicht mithalten kann, bearbeiten Politik, Gesellschaft, Wissenschaft und Industrie das Thema bereits aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln.

Für Unternehmen ergeben sich hier zahlreiche Fragen, die Einfluss auf die Gestaltung zukunftsfähiger digitaler Geschäftsmodelle haben: Wie können Algorithmen zur automatisierten Entscheidungsfindung genutzt werden, ohne die menschliche Autonomie zu verletzen? Wie entscheidet man über den Einbezug öffentlich zugänglicher Datensätze, wenn dabei nicht klar ist, wie diese Daten gewonnen wurden? Wie setzt man digitale Technologien verantwortungsvoll ein, für die es noch keine Standards gibt? Und wann folgt Deutschland dem Beispiel Dänemarks und führt Berichtspflichten über die Datenethikstrategie von Unternehmen ein?

Ethik geht nicht im Recht auf. Nicht jedes Detail, das ethisch relevant ist, kann und sollte rechtlich reguliert werden. Umgekehrt gibt es Aspekte rechtlicher Regulierung, die pragmatischer Art und ethisch nicht zwingend sind.

Datenethikkommission der BundesregierungGutachten der Datenethikkommission, S.41

Ethik geht nicht im Recht auf. Nicht jedes Detail, das ethisch relevant ist, kann und sollte rechtlich reguliert werden. Umgekehrt gibt es Aspekte rechtlicher Regulierung, die pragmatischer Art und ethisch nicht zwingend sind.

Datenethikkommission der BundesregierungGutachten der Datenethikkommission, S.41